Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (27): A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly bookish event hosted by Breaking the SpineThis is a meme that many book blogs participate in to goggle over highly anticipated upcoming releases and fabulous covers and authors!


So I am a HUGE fan of the ever well-written Throne of Glass Series, also by Sarah J. Maas. When I learned about her next upcoming release, A Court of Thorns and Roses, I thought very little of it at the time because I was on the downward spiral from reading Heir of Fire, the third installment of our first lovely fantasy series. I did do a cover reveal for A Court of Thorns and Roses but thought nearly nothing about it afterwards. I don't think I should be blamed for that (as ToG fans will definitely understand), but I later felt idiotic when I learned more about this book and could not believe I didn't pay more attention to it earlier.

Goodreads Synopsis:
A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!



I will read anything Sarah J. Maas writes at this point, but after reading the synopsis initially, I thought it was going to be a lovey-dovey tale about a damsel-like girl with a severe case of Stockholm Syndrome.

Until I read the sampler.

A mere four chapters. A gift from the gods. 

I approached that sampler with an "Eh" feeling, and didn't think those chapters could be so pivotal in my pre-opinion of the book.

They were. 
Holy everything. If those were only the first four chapters (and if your read them you would understand they are almost like a "prologue" to what we are expecting next), then just on what scale of  incredible, fantastical, and magnificent must the rest of the book be like? What is the rest of the series going to be like? Maybe it was because I wasn't expecting very much in the first place, but wow, did Maas deliver. Regardless, this book is going to be my hot topic for the next few months until release day in May, and probably a long while after. 

The eSampler of A Court of Thorns and Roses is available as a free Kindle ebook on Amazon that you can find here:


I would tell you to read it if you think you can handle the raise of suspense for May 5th, 2015.

3 comments:

  1. This author is on my need to get to soon list. I have heard amazing things. I love anything Beauty and the Beast. My WoW: https://thereadingrebel.wordpress.com/2015/02/11/waiting-on-wednesday-31/

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't wait for this book, it is just one of those you can't miss out!!
    My WoW
    Naomi @The Perks Of Being Bookworm

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love Sarah J Maas! ACOTAR sounds so good and everyone's been raving about it, so to say I'm excited would be an understatement. I hope you like this one too!
    Ariel @ Bookish Confessions

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...